pasternevada.blogg.se

Boot mac os in virtualbox
Boot mac os in virtualbox














I attempted many things to try to get the machine to boot including booting to a working drive and running the bless command on the non-booting drive, running the bless command on the host computer while the non-booting drive was mounted, trying to use the Interactive Shell to select the correct drive, installing rEFInd, booting to the install image and repairing the disk, and other things. So if you install the OS X file system by using a file copy, it will not be bootable (that's what I did). This info can be set with the bless command-line tool. The OS loader is usually located through a file ID pointer in the HFS+ volume header. The following statement makes me think that the location of the OS loader is part of the volume header. This isn't a standard location for EFI boot loaders. Normally, OS X boots to it's own EFI boot loader located at /System/Library/CoreServices/boot.efi. An easy way to get this is to go to a VM settings and remove all disks and start the VM up. So if you don't have a bootable disk for some reason, VirtualBox will boot up to the UEFI Interactive Shell. So I figured if I could mount the filesystem on the host and install the files it would work. I tried cloning images and resizing but it wouldn't work. My goal was to be able to create VirtualBox images quickly and easily without having to run an OS X installer every time.

BOOT MAC OS IN VIRTUALBOX HOW TO

I also never really figured out how to use the interactive shell to do anything useful. The reason why it was unresolved is because I kept having errors on disks I created this way, so I decided it wasn't worth it. I wrote it back in Sept 2015 but am just posting it in Apr 2016.

boot mac os in virtualbox

This post is unfinished and unresolved but I've got a lot of information so I thought I'd post it anyway. DIY Capacitive Stylus for iPad and iPhone.Mounting VirtualBox HFS+ VDI files on OS X.

boot mac os in virtualbox

  • Reading the keychain with a perl script.
  • The VirtualBox Interactive Shell - Magnusviri














    Boot mac os in virtualbox